TUCO reveals shortlist for annual awards

The University Caterers Organisation (TUCO) has just announced the shortlist for their annual awards taking place on Wednesday 25 July at the University of Hull, Yorkshire. The evening will form part of the three-day TUCO Conference 2018.

Matthew White, Chair of TUCO commented, “The TUCO Awards is an opportunity for our members to receive recognition for their hard work and commitment. It is important that we show appreciation.

'Congratulations to all finalists and many thanks to all nominations that we have received. It is very difficult to choose from many talented people in the industry. I wish everyone the best of luck.”

The awards were established to recognise outstanding commitment and dedication, whether it be the start of their career in catering or in a management position. It celebrates the initiatives and bright ideas of TUCO members, including new openings, innovative campaigns and sustainability.

Carol Robinson, Marketing executive in conferences and catering at the Royal Holloway, University of London, said, “We are delighted to have been shortlisted for four awards.

The world of catering and events within universities is unfamiliar to many and nominations for awards such as these, highlight and recognise all of our teams’ hard work in offering a truly world class student experience. It’s very motivating and it aspires us all to achieve more. We are looking forward to the awards evening!”

Now in its second year, a brand-new category has been added, Outstanding Achievement Award. Finalists for this award are Clive Williams from the University of Leicester, Wendy Hardman from the University of Manchester and Helen Anzani from the University of South Wales.

There is also the TUCO Member of the Year Award, which shines a light on one university or college that inspires and encourages professional excellence.

Helen Anzani, Head of Catering Services at the University of South Wales, said, “I am honoured to be shortlisted, alongside such accomplished colleagues within TUCO. Being a TUCO member has been invaluable to the University of South Wales, it delivers great value for a small membership fee. We have reaped the rewards of savings through utilising the framework agreements and the TUCO Academy ensures our staff flourish with the most current and creative development opportunities.”

Full list of finalists:
Rising Star Award
• Helen Earwaker - Royal Holloway, University of London • Latoya Lambert - University of Huddersfield • Ross Carstairs - University of St Andrews
Innovation Award
• Royal Holloway, University of London • University of Reading
Sustainability Award
• Aston University • King's College London • University of Cambridge
Team of the Year
• The Delivered Hospitality Service Team - Cardiff University • Cafe´ on the Square Team - Royal Holloway, University of London • Accommodation, Conferences and Events Team - University of St Andrews
Member of the Year
• Huddersfield University • Royal Holloway, University of London • University of Wolverhampton
NEW Outstanding Achievement Award
• Clive Williams - University of Leicester • Wendy Hardman - University of Manchester • Helen Anzani - University of South Wales